913-234-8181
8 Comments
Holme Roberts and Owen, here in Denver, handles litigation for the RIAA so there's definitely a connection.
@SeanTR
>These claims are bogus... I hardly listen to music at all, let alone download it off the internet.
You might have been flagged for what your kids or wife (or roomate) are doing as well. If you have a wireless connection, your neighbors might be "borrowing" your connection to steal music and share it out.
It's also possible they collected the info they are working with when someone else owned the connection/ip. I doubt they'd check with the ISP and compare dates on when the info was collected and when the current owner of the connection took possession of the IP address. Likely:
1. they called isp and said "give me info on who owns 123.123.123.123".
2. you own it *currently* so they gave them your name.
For all anyone (but them) knows, it could have been collected *before* you even subscribed to the ISP. They don't care about this, they just want to collect a settlement from someone, *anyone*. They get a cracker with peanut butter on it for every case they bring to court. They don't care if they are wrong.
If you recently got a new connection (in the last year) you may want to call them and ask them how old the working set of data is which they are using, on a conference call with your ISP. You need dates, filenames, printed out and faxed to you.
(Then save this for court. In court you'll want to compare this to what they are submitting as evidence to see if they are changing their story. It's possible a judge and jury may decide they are making it up as they go along if it's a completely different list. As well the RIAA may want to know that they are being stupid script monkeys instead of smart script monkeys.)
The ISP could then give them the *correct* info they are looking for. If the info on the illegal files was collected before you were a customer, the ISP will give them the right information and they'll go after the right people.
It'd be much easier to do this than to go to court and have it come out in discovery. The whole attorney thing really jacks up the cost.
There's also the possibility that w4r3z d00dz have comprimised your computer and you are serving the stuff through a botnet or something without you knowing it.
It's time for a methodical survey of what your computers are doing on the network... If you really don't know, you need to find out. It could save your butt in court. Unfortunately to figure this out you kind of need to be a "computer person".
Good luck. You are in a very unenviable position. I hope it works out for the best if you are really innocent.
-Viz
I live in Illinois less than 10 miles from that Schaumburg location. Many businesses run out of there, quite a few as shells (such as many online universities using it for their sales centers)...that's all I know of that location, sorry.
SeanTR:
Please think about obtaining legal advice:
Check this web site:
recordingindustryvspeople.blogspot.com
and here:
recordingindustryvspeople.blogspot.com
The RIAA doesn't care whether the claims or bogus or not. They'll still sue you.
I also got one of these "notice of copyright infringement" letters and receive a call practically every day from Caller ID PSC Group while I'm at work. They never leave any messages. What can I do? These claims are bogus... I hardly listen to music at all, let alone download it off the internet.
Here's all the addresses I could find for the PSC websites
PSC Group
1051 Perimeter Drive Suite 500
Schaumburg, IL 60173
1-847-517-7200
1-800-592-8003
Fax 1-847-517-7600
info-ILS@psclistens.com
13200 Metcalf Avenue Suite 100
Overland Park, KS 66213
1-913-402-4599
1-800-592-8003
Fax 1-913-402-4689
info-KS@psclistens.com
601 Carlson Parkway Suite 1050
Minnetonka, MN 55305
1-952-448-2300
1-800-592-8003
Fax 1-800-231-4915
info-MN@psclistens.com
For p2plawsuits.com
Recording Industry Association of America
1025 F ST NW 10th Floor
Washington, DC 20004
1-202-775-0101
PSC is Precision Systems Concepts ( chicago.bbb.org ) and is affiliated with Accertify LLC ( which started as Obexa LLC) and possibly SRI - Systems Research Inc. These companies handle fraudulent checks/credit card transactions and document processing. It is also being said that they simply supplied a VOIP system to RIAA and that's why the connected information in the phone database.
However if you look at the old registration information for www.SettlementInformationLine.com the original SSC website, you'll see that it was originally registered to
Bret Chapman
13200 Metcalf Ave Suite 100
Overland Park, Kansas 66213
which is the same address as PSC. It is now registered to Holme Roberts & Owen LLP in Denver. If they only sold VOIP access/equipment to RIAA, it seems strange they also registered the website, no?
This is RIAA's Settlement Information Line Call Center from their website www.p2plawsuits.com
These people are as bad as NCO Financial Systems' debt collectors. They call constantly and intimidate you into settling a file-sharing complaint. It used to be called the SSC - Settlement Support Center, but that has been closed down.
I read that this may be a company called PSC Group, LLC. Not sure if that is true but supposedly the phone company database identifies them as the owner of that phone number ( www.p2pnet.net ). Their websites are:
newresources.com
pcslisten.com
pcslistens.com
pscgroup.com
psclisten.com
psclistens.com
psctou.com
Here's some other websites on the same server as p2plawsuits.com
musicunited.biz
musicunited.info
musicunited.net
musicunited.org
p2plawsuit.com
p2plawsuits.info
p2plawsuits.net
p2plawsuits.org
p2plawsuitsonline.com
p2plawsuitssite.com
Submit a comment on 913-234-8181
All trademarks and copyrights on this page are the property of their respective owners. Comments are the property and responsibility of the Poster. We do not endorse or otherwise recommend any financial or legal advice posted here. Please consult an attorney if needed.
- Post only truthful information. You are responsible for any defamatory or disparaging content that you post.
- Please watch your language. There are many wonderful words with more than four letters.
- Please don't make threats. I'm rubber and you're glue...
- IF YOU TYPE LIKE THIS, people will think you are special (bad special, not good special). The shift key is your friend.
Link To This Page
Put a link on your blog or website and talk about this caller.
1 Reported Call
Add your call to the list below and help everyone track it.
| Caller's Name | Caller ID | Date |
|---|---|---|
| 913-234-8181 | 4/24/2008 |

Business Week just published a great article on a woman who won her case against the RIAA, and the lawyer who represented her on contingency. The RIAA was eventually forced to drop the suit and she is now countersuing for $5 million.
Here's the link to the story. Good luck with your case:
www.businessweek.com